The moments after experiencing a car accident can be hectic and confusing. The matters are made even worse if the motorist at fault is either underinsured or uninsured. In such a case, you are bound to have many questions like what to do and how to ensure you collect a settlement for the car repairs and medical expenses. Your first step should be to contact an uninsured motorist accident lawyer immediately.
Well, you need money to cover your losses and that is why it is advisable to contact Buffalo Car Accident Lawyers as soon as possible. A Niagara Falls auto accident attorney can investigate your case including your losses and if you have a valid claim, work to compel the insurance company to pay you what you’re due.
Get in touch today at (716) 261-2614 to get started on your case.
Table of Contents
New York Insurance Requirements for Drivers
NY takes auto insurance seriously and all motorists are expected to show financial responsibility before getting on the road or registering their vehicles. Minimal New York auto insurance requires motorists to have a policy that includes no-fault auto insurance, liability car insurance, as well as uninsured driver insurance. You can easily find an insurance company in New York that provides a plan that merges all these types of coverage.
As you go through the available auto insurance quotes, New York ideally has some minimum coverage requirements for each of the coverage. Here is a brief breakdown of all minimums required.
- $10K for property damage
- $25K for injuries to one person and $50K for multiple people
- $50k for death to one person
- $100K for death to multiple individuals
When it comes to car insurance, NY requires motorists to have coverage that will pay costs for damages and injuries sustained in an accident no matter who was at fault. No-fault policies for NY should have a minimum limit of $50K per individual to cover:
-Household expense benefit of up to $25 per day for up to a year
-Accident-related medical bills
-80 percent of lost income due to the accident
-$2K death benefit on top of the $50K limit
Uninsured Drivers Insurance
- 25K for injuries to one individual
- 50K for injuries to multiple individuals.
What Should You Do if You Are Hit by an Uninsured Driver?
Let us assume you are patiently waiting for the green light in traffic when suddenly, you’re hit from behind, causing whiplash and some damage to your vehicle. The driver at fault seems panicked and when you ask them for their insurance information, they tell you they do not have any.
Such a situation can be very unfortunate, but as a savvy driver, you should follow these tips:
Contact the Police
If you get into an auto accident, whether the other driver has insurance or not, it is best to contact the relevant authorities. However, this is even more important when dealing with an uninsured driver. That’s because the official police report will help make the claims process smoother.
Yes, the other party does not have insurance information to give you, but you will still want to get their contact details and vehicle information. Do not forget to collect contact information from any witnesses also, as their statements can make the claims process less hectic.
Do Not Accept Money
Since the other party isn’t insured, they could be tempted to offer some money to avoid the hefty fees and fines. At this stage, you do not know what your injury or damages costs will amount to and so, even if it might seem like a good deal, hold back and do not accept any money.
Next, you’ll want to record the make and model of the car involved, location and time of the accident as well as the name and badge number of the police involved. Write down any information you think would be useful when working with your insurer.
You’ll also want to capture any damage done to both cars, the other vehicle’s number plate, the direction each car was traveling, and traffic signs. All these are vital details that will come in handy when making a claim.
Get an Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyer
It is imperative to contact an uninsured motorist accident lawyer as soon as possible after an auto accident involving an uninsured driver to ensure you’re not being low-balled or denied the owed benefits by your insurer. Buffalo Car Accident Lawyers will fight for your rights and help you get the settlement you deserve. If you already have a compensation offer, our team can review it and the accident’s circumstances.
Who Pays For a Car Accident Claim if the Driver at Fault is Uninsured?
New York is a no-fault auto insurance state, meaning regardless of the party at fault, it’s your insurance company’s responsibility to provide compensation for your lost wages, medical expenses, vehicle repairs, and cost of replacement services to help you with your daily activities/chores. However, all these benefits have limits and they can be set by you, depending on the amount of insurance you wish to purchase.
While no-fault coverage will compensate you for economic damages, it will not provide compensation for your pain and suffering, or other non-economic losses experienced.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim in New York?
If you sustained injury or damages in a car accident, it is imperative to find out whether the other motorist is insured. You’ll have up to 14 days to report the crash and 3 years to claim settlement in New York. Report the accident as soon as possible as these cases can be complex and time-consuming.
Note that you’ll need to provide sufficient evidence to prove that the other party was at fault. As such, it is imperative to hire an uninsured motorist accident lawyer with experience in car accident cases.
How Much Will an Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyer Cost?
Thankfully, most lawyers in New York operate on a contingency fee basis. This means you don’t have to worry about the lawyer fees until your case is won. Our lawyers will take an agreed-upon percentage of your settlement once the claim is approved.